The 2012 Honorees

(Click on each region for full details and to listen to audio recordings.)

Alaskan Region
Kristina Kurtz, Anchorage TRACON

Central Region
Todd Mariani, Kansas City Center

Eastern Region
Matt Reed, Potomac TRACON

Great Lakes Region
Guy Lieser and Steve McGreevy, Chicago Center

New England Region
Chris Henchey and Ryan Workman, Boston Center

Northwest Mountain Region (co-winner)
Charlie Rohrer, Denver Center

Northwest Mountain Region (co-winner)
Ken Greenwood, Josh Haviland and Ryan Herrick, Seattle TRACON
   * NOTE: Greenwood, Haviland and Herrick also won the President's Award, given by NATCA President Paul Rinaldi in honor of the most outstanding flight assist of the year.

Southern Region
Alvin Kent, Atlanta Center

Southwest Region
Frank Fisher and Greg Fleetwood, Corpus Christi Tower / TRACON

Western Pacific Region
Kevin McLaughlin, Southern California TRACON

Media Coverage

NBC Today Show
Fox News Channel
New Hampshire Union Leader
WMUR-TV (New Hampshire)
Nashua (N.H.) Telegraph
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
KIRO-TV (Seattle)
WSB-TV (Atlanta)
WSB (Atlanta)
WSB Radio (Atlanta) (Version 1)
WSB Radio (Atlanta) (Version 2)
Corpus Christi (Texas) Caller Times
Daily Herald (Chicago suburbs)
KSHB-TV (Kansas City)
The Orange County Register
KTUU-TV (Alaska)
AvWeb aviation news
General Aviation News
Aviation International News
Aero-News Network Aviation Online Magazine

Support and Praise From the Aviation Community

U.S. Department of Transportation, Secretary Ray LaHood blog, "Fast Lane"

Federal Aviation Administration Acting Administrator Michael P. Huerta
Air Line Pilots Association, International (ALPA)
Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA)
Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA)
National Business Aviation Association (NBAA)

The Archie League Medal of Safety Awards Banquet

February 1, 2012; Atlanta

Keynote remarks from FAA Acting Administrator Michael P. Huerta
Special 26-page program spotlighting the 15 honorees
VIDEO: Each of the award presentations
Photos from the event


To view past winners of the Archie League Medal of Safety Awards, click on the year:
2013 2011 • 2010 • 2009 • 2008 • 2007 • 20062005

For more information please contact Doug Church at

For NATCA members: To nominate a fellow member for the 2013 awards, click here.