Archie League Medal of Safety Awards

The ability to think quickly and remain calm under pressure while maintaining a situational awareness are all unique qualities that air traffic controllers possess. Without their willingness to jump right in to resolve complex situations, offer a reassuring voice to those on the frequency and coordinate their efforts with other controllers, this group of dedicated professionals wouldn’t be as successful as they are today at maintaining the safety of the National Airspace System.

While many controllers often feel that they are “just doing their job,” their hard work is often viewed by others as remarkable and extraordinary. Named after the first air traffic controller, the Archie League Medal of Safety Awards program highlights a variety of “saves” – some which involve a team of controllers working together and others which are the result of one controller’s efforts.

Air traffic controllers juggle a variety of variables and complex scenarios. Their ability to adapt to ever-changing situations while keeping their composure is a skill they have mastered. As a result of their commitment to perfection, our system is the safest in the world.

The 2013 Honorees

(Please click on the name of each region for full information about each winner, including audio clips and transcripts of the award-winning flight assist.)

Alaskan Region
Ryan Williams, Anchorage Center

Central Region
Kevin Cook and Steve Clark, St. Louis TRACON

Eastern Region
Dave Giberson and Corey Grafe, Philadelphia Tower

Great Lakes Region
Jeff Richards, Chicago Center

New England Region
Erik Anderson, Boston Tower

Northwest Mountain Region
Donovan Carson, Portland TRACON
Southern Region
Bill Sullivan, Tampa Tower and TRACON

Southwest Region
LouElla Hollingsworth, Fort Worth Center

Western Pacific Region
Emily Birkland and Roy Teshima, Oakland Center

Media Coverage

ABC Radio
ABC World News Tonight
Aviation International News
Dallas - CBS11-TV
Dallas - WFAA-TV
Huffington Post
Philadelphia - CBS3-TV
Philadelphia - KYW Radio
St. Louis - KSDK-TV
St. Louis - Post-Dispatch

The Archie League Medal of Safety Awards Banquet

March 6, 2013

Special 28-page program spotlighting the 12 honorees


To view past winners of the Archie League Medal of Safety Awards, click on the year: 
2012 •  2011 • 2010 • 2009 • 2008 • 2007 • 20062005

For more information please contact Doug Church at

For NATCA members: To nominate a fellow member for the 2014 awards, click here.