11th Annual Archie League Medal of Safety Awards

The ability to think quickly and remain calm under pressure while maintaining a situational awareness are all unique qualities that air traffic controllers possess. Without their willingness to jump right in to resolve complex situations, offer a reassuring voice to those on the frequency and coordinate their efforts with other controllers, this group of dedicated professionals wouldn’t be as successful as they are today at maintaining the safety of the National Airspace System.

While many controllers often feel that they are “just doing their job,” their hard work is often viewed by others as remarkable and extraordinary. Named after the first air traffic controller, the Archie League Medal of Safety Awards program highlights a variety of “saves” – some which involve a team of controllers working together and others which are the result of one controller’s efforts.

Air traffic controllers juggle a variety of variables and complex scenarios. Their ability to adapt to ever-changing situations while keeping their composure is a skill they have mastered. As a result of their commitment to perfection, our system is the safest in the world.

The 2015 Honorees

(These NATCA members will be honored during the 11th Annual Archie League Medal of Safety Awards banquet at Communicating for Safety in Las Vegas on March 4 - live webcast coverage on natca.org starting at 8:15 p.m. PST.)

Alaskan Region
Parker Corts, Anchorage Center

Central Region
Travis Arnold, Omaha TRACON

Eastern Region
Joseph Rodewald, Potomac TRACON

Great Lakes Region
Adam Helm, Justin Krenke, and Mike Ostrander, Green Bay Tower and TRACON

New England Region
Kelly Eger and Sarah LaPorte Ostrander, Boston Tower

Northwest Mountain Region
Matt Dippe, Mark Haechler, and Alan Passero, Seattle Center
Southern Region
Sarina Gumbert, Central Florida TRACON

Southwest Region
Hugh McFarland, Houston TRACON

Western Pacific Region
Jesse Anderson, La Verne Brackett Tower

Media Coverage

KOMO-TV Seattle
KOMO-AM Seattle
Orlando Sentinel
Orlando Sentinel (Editorial page feature)
WKMG-TV Orlando
WLUK (Fox 11) Green Bay, Wisc.

The 11th Annual Archie League Medal of Safety Awards Banquet

March 4, 2015
Rio, Las Vegas

Special 28-page book about the honorees and their stories - COMING MARCH 4

Video of the entire awards banquet - COMING SOON

Photos from the banquet - COMING SOON

Video: The highlights from each of our award-winning events - COMING SOON

Video: The winners of the President's Award; honoring the very best life-saving flight assists since 2005 - COMING SOON

AOPA Air Safety Institute's Flight Assist Commendation Awards

To be presented by AOPA Foundation Past President Bruce Landsberg at the March 4 Archie League Medal of Safety Awards banquet.

Video of the awards presentation - COMING SOON


To view past winners of the Archie League Medal of Safety Awards, click on the year: 
2014 •  2013 •  2012 •  2011 • 2010 • 2009 • 2008 • 2007 • 20062005

For more information please contact Doug Church at dchurch@natcadc.org.

For NATCA members: To nominate a fellow member for the 2016 awards (all 2015 calendar year flight assists are eligible to be nominated), click HERE.