Safety and Tech Director Dale Wright Wins RTCA’s Highest Honor, Credits NATCA Staff
Thursday, April 04, 2013

The RTCA Policy Board has selected NATCA Director of Safety and Technology Dale Wright to receive its highest honor, the Achievement Award, which is presented annually to the individual making the most significant contribution to the aviation community over the past year.

The award will be presented at RTCA’s annual awards luncheon on June 5, during the RTCA 2013 Global Aviation Symposium.

“NATCA’s staff really won this award,” Wright said. “Most of the work with RTCA is done by the staff. Mark O'Neil and Chris Stephenson have put a very large amount of time into making sure NATCA is available on these working groups. Bill Geoghagan has not actually attended a meeting yet, but he is scheduled to begin in June.”

Wright also credited NATCA NextGen Representative Mel Davis, whom he described as “an invaluable resource for RTCA.”

Wright said he has provided NATCA input to the NextGen Advisory Committee (NAC) Sub Committee, and made sure that NATCA has a presence at every meeting.

“We have used our tech reps to provide technical information that is pertinent to the subject at hand,” he said.

In addition, Wright added, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi and Executive Vice President Trish Gilbert’s participation within the NAC “has gone a long way to improving NATCA's image, and the acceptance of NATCA by our industry partners is more than likely the best it has ever been.”

RTCA, Inc., began in 1935 as the Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics. According to its mission statement on its website (, the organization “is utilized as a federal advisory committee, to be the premier public-private partnership venue for developing consensus among diverse and competing interests and provide advice and recommendations on key issues critical to aviation modernization in an increasingly global enterprise.”