1997  |  1998  |  1999  |  2000  |  2001  |  2002  |  2003  |  2004  |  2005  |  2006  |  2007  |  2008  |  2009  |  2010  |  2011  |  2012  |  2013  |  2014  |  2015

NATCA Honors Controllers with Archie League Medal of Safety Awards for Heroic Flight Assists - (3/3/2009)

CONTACT:  Alexandra Caldwell, NATCA National Office, 202-220-9813

LAS VEGAS – NATCA is honoring some of its finest heroes today for their outstanding contributions to preserving the safety of the flying public – demonstrating extraordinary capability in critical flight assists in 2008.

The Archie League Medal of Safety, named for the first air traffic controller, will be awarded to the following 16 controllers for their involvement in 11 flight assists.  They are:

ALASKAN REGION – Mark Harris, Anchorage TRACON

CENTRAL REGION – Christian Manglona, Des Moines

EASTERN REGION – Steve Flickinger, Roanoke

GREAT LAKES REGION (tie) – Robert Zeman, Chicago Midway Tower; Stephanie Bevins and Jay McCombs, Cleveland Center

NEW ENGLAND REGION – Stephen Roebuck, Bruce Clough, John Therrien and Bill Wood, Boston Center


SOUTHERN REGION (tie) – Kenny Ellis, Memphis Center and Joe Mackie, Greer, S.C.

SOUTHWEST REGION – John Charlton, Lake Charles, La.

WESTERN PACIFIC REGION – Neil Irvin and Tom Gallagher, Northern California TRACON

Said NATCA President Patrick Forrey:  “Though the men and women these controllers saved call them heroes, for these controllers it was simply a matter of relying on their training and experience – allowing them to react with precision and skill without hesitation.  Heroic yet humble, these controllers represent our profession well, and their commitment to safety inspires everything we do at NATCA.”

For complete information about each award winner, please go here:
http://www.natca.org/cfs2009.aspx?zone=CFS 2009&pID=344#p344

Show All News Headlines