We Guide You Home
Region X Logo

Region X Telecon Notes & Monthly Update | September 2020

A Message from Our Region X RVP Region X Updates from Brad Davidson

Congratulations on a successful 2020 fiscal year with the FAA.  We are ending September and with that one of the most stressful, unpredictable, and challenging fiscal years we have faced.  Unfortunately, I am estimating that FY 2021 will be much more of a challenge so prepare yourself for a number of challenges.
 
As of September 23, the house has passed a continuing resolution (CR) to fund the government through December 11th and there appears to be no real opposition to passage in the senate and eventual signing by the white house.  NATCA has worked with our legislative allies to ensure that the FAA funding was addressed for the CR out of general funds recognizing the financial stress on the aviation trust fund.
 
We will be facing the national election season in full swing for the next six weeks.  A friendly reminder to keep politics out of the office.
 
Our legislative activists will be all-hands on deck for the next six weeks encouraging people to get out and vote, vote by mail, support our NATCA friends in congress, and influence our friends and family.  If you would like to join me for some text or phone banking I will be doing so at least once each week and notices will be sent out by our Region X Legislative lead – Jason Holland.  All members are welcome and encouraged.  We truly make a difference and in an odd way, both text and phone banking is actually enjoyable.
 
For our seasoned members and our new hires (probationary employees) be mindful of helping our new peers through the new job learning experience.  We find ourselves in a different setting with mentoring, coaching, and assisting the new employees remotely.  Remember back when you started with the agency and those who assisted you with your successful transition to a journeyperson with the agency.  Pay that forward.  And if you see someone struggling consider utilizing NATCA’s tools like professional standards and get your local representative involved.  We need to look out for one another as we are stronger together.
 
I will be taking annual leave for the next week and look forward to some down time.  I encourage each of you to do the same.  There is no expectation that use or lose leave will be extended due to COVID so please plan accordingly and request leave as far in advance as you can to avoid conflict with the managers.
 
Thank you for your continued professionalism and continued efforts to complete your work remotely.  For good or bad, what we are experiencing now are going to be our working conditions for the foreseeable future with maximum telework and limited/phased field work until COVID-19 levels improve. 
 
Sincerely,
 
Brad
Region X VP


CLICK HERE TO SEE LATEST NOTES

Region X National Leadership

Brad Davidson     Regional VP                   bdavidson@natca.net
Bob Aitken           ARVP                                   raitken@natca.net
Curt Howe           ARVP                                    chowe@natca.net
Felicia Reeves    Airports                                 freeves@natca.net
Patrick Massie    Aircraft Certification   patrick.massie@natca.net
Pam Rusk           Information Technology           prusk@natca.net
Stacie Wooten    Drug Abatement    swooten3128@sbcglobal.net

Region X National Committee Representatives

Don Schmeichel  –  Safety Committee    dschmeichel@natca.net
Della Swartz  –  Safety Committee           della.swartz@natca.net
Mike Martin  –  Constitution Committee          mmartin@natca.net
Don Smith  – Organizing Committee            don.smith@natca.net
Jefferson MacDonald – Organizing Committee
jefferson.j.macdonald@gmail.com
Vacant  –       OSHA Committee
Quang Nguyen  –  Benefits Committee quang.nguyen@natca.net
Jason Holland – Legislative Committee  jason.holland@natca.net
Corey Glaze – National Pay Team         corey.s.glaze@gmail.com
Ed Szczuka  –  On-boarding Committee       eszczuka@natca.net
Pam Rusk – Regional Communications              prusk@natca.net
Molly Fierro  – Finance Committee            mlamrouex@natca.net
Thom Twitchell – OWCP Committee           twitchs@earthlink.net
Vacant  –  Reloaded Committee

Region X Telecon Notes Archives
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
May 2020
April 2020
Jump to top of page