We Guide You Home

Region X Monthly Update | September 2021

A Message from Our Region X RVP

Brothers and Sisters –

Exciting Changes for NATCA and Region X.
We welcome our new President Rich Santa and executive Vice President Andrew LeBovidge to their new leadership roles for NATCA.  I am excited about the direction they will take this union based on the foundation that Paul Rinaldi and Trish Gilbert successfully established in so many different arenas that impact each and every one of us every day.  I know we will only grow stronger with this next chapter for NATCA that we all will create.  There will be changes, there will be things that we build upon, and there will be foundational elements that will remain.

For the past 18 months within Region X, I have been constantly evaluating the effectiveness of our internal NATCA teams and assignments and have been making changes in key areas to both match our activists skill sets with our overall needs in order to best represent our membership.   

I am excited to inform everyone that Ed Szczuka will be joining the national team as an additional alternate Regional Vice President (aRVP).  This will give us an aRVP in the west (Curt Howe), central (Ed Szczuka), and east (Bob Aitken) and allow for more dedicated and timely responsiveness to our representatives and membership across the country.  

With Ed’s expanded role as an aRVP he will be relieved of his current role as our Region X collaboration facilitator.  Corey Glaze from ENM will be taking on this role and the challenges head on and I could not be more excited.  Corey is a solution driven professional and I have every confidence he will significantly advance our collaborative partnership with the agency.

We are changing our internal Region X Grievance Review Team makeup and processes so we can be more effective with the cases we evaluate, support, litigate, and settle.  The new team includes:  Ed Sczuka, Bob Aitken, Curt Howe, Felicia Reeves (ARP), Mike Dostert (AIR), Pam Rusk (AFN), Corey Glaze (AJV), Don Smith (second level engineering – E&A), and Troy Swanberg (E&A).

I am making a change with the National Organizing Committee (NOC) and appointing Anthony Barksdale as a Region X member on the committee.  Anthony is our E&A principal representative out of ESO and is a resident engineer who spends most of his time in the field.  His experiences will bring a different perspective to organizing and recruiting across the country.  If you have had the chance to meet Anthony you know his energy and drive is infectious and motivating.  I look forward to Anthony’s influence on the NOC.

Recruiting and organizing will continue to be a primary focus within Region X.  Power and influence is in numbers and with influence comes results.  We are going to establish an internal Region X organizing/recruiting committee to supplement and expand the efforts of the NOC’s Project X.  The intent is for us to take the tools put together by the NOC and focus them for our needs within our individual bargaining units.  There will be more to come on this in the near future and if you have a desire to help grow our union please reach out to your local representative or any of our leadership team.  We grow our union from within as no one knows what we do better than us and we all welcome and encourage your involvement.  

This term I will be much more heavily involved and relied upon within the NEB, with our national committees, and guiding Region X through the next three years.  On your behalf, I will be influencing the makeup and trajectory of NATCA and elevating Region X issues we need to address, educate our air traffic controller brothers and sisters, and actively looking for many of you, our own Region X members, to become more involved with this union.  Together is how we grow, educate, influence, and get results.

Stay safe –

Region X RVP

NATCA Region X Contact Information
Region X National Leadership

Brad Davidson                 Regional Vice President
Bob Aitken                       Alternate Regional Vice President
Curt Howe                       Alternate Regional Vice President
Gwendolyn Kimbrough   AFN National Representative
Felicia Reeves                Airports National Representative
Patrick Massie                Aircraft Certification National Representative
Pam Rusk                       AIT National Representative
Stacie Wooten                Drug Abatement National Representative

Region X National Committee Representatives

Don Schmeichel  –   National Safety Committee
Ingrid Knox  –   National Safety Committee
Mike Martin  –   National Constitution Committee
Don Smith  –   National Organizing Committee
Jefferson MacDonald  –   National Organizing Committee
Homer Benavides  –  National OSHA Committee
Quang Nguyen  –  National Benefits Committee
Della Swartz – National Historical Committee
Jason Holland – National Legislative Committee
Dawn Forde – National Legislative Committee
Ricky Hidalgo – National Drug & Alcohol Committee
Corey Glaze – National Pay Team
Ed Szczuka  –  Finance, Onboarding & Collaboration Facilitator
Pam Rusk – Regional Communications
Thom Twitchell – National OWCP Committee
Vacant  –  National Reloaded Committee

Region X Updates & Meeting Notes Archive
August 2021
July 2021 – Updates at Kansas City Meeting
June 2021
May 2021
April 2021
March 2021 Contract Extensions & Call Notes
March 2021
January & February 2021
December 2020
November 2020
October 2020
September 2020
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
May 2020
April 2020

Jump to top of page