We Guide You Home

James L Oberstar Sentinel of Safety Award

James L. Oberstar Sentinel of Safety Award

Jim Oberstar
Jim Oberstar

NATCA created the Sentinel of Safety Award as a way to honor aviation leaders outside NATCA who have displayed outstanding achievement in the advancement of aviation safety. The award is presented annually at NATCA’s Communicating For Safety conference.

On Oct. 2, 2014, at the Minneapolis Convention, NATCA proudly renamed the award to honor Congressman Jim Oberstar, who was a tireless advocate for aviation, air traffic control, and NATCA during his tenure in Congress and as the Chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. Congressman Oberstar died on May 3, 2014, just a few weeks before NATCA in Washington, the event he supported and attended for many years, and at which in 2005 he was awarded the first Sentinel of Safety Award.

Oct 2, 2014; Minneapolis, MN, USA; The James Oberstar Sentinel of Safety Award presented to Jean Oberstar during the 2014 NATCA 15th Biennial Convention.

Congressman Oberstar didn’t just talk about unions or work with unions. He WAS union. He once famously told a gathering of NATCA members that the National Airspace System and aviation safety was “in your hands. Good hands. Great hands. Great minds. Great people. NATCA people.”

NATCA welcomed the late Congressman’s wife, Jean, to Minneapolis at the 2014 Convention to honor his commitment to safety and to NATCA. She is pictured at right with (left to right) NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, former Executive Vice President Dr. Ruth Stilwell, former President John Carr, and Executive Vice President Trish Gilbert.

List of articles in category James L. Oberstar Sentinel of Safety Award

2019 Sentinel of Safety Award: Tom Costello

2018 Sentinel of Safety Award: Gordon Graham

2017 Sentinel of Safety Award: Margaret Jenny

2017 Sentinel of Safety Award: Michael Huerta

2017 Sentinel of Safety Award: Christopher Hart

2016 Sentinel of Safety Award: Joseph Teixeira

2015 Sentinel of Safety Award: Chairman Deborah Hersman

2014 Sentinel of Safety Award: Capt. Lee Moak

2013 Sentinel of Safety Award: Randy Babbitt

2012 Sentinel of Safety Award: Jim Fossey

2010 Sentinel of Safety Award: Jane Garvey

2009 Sentinel of Safety: Rep. Alcee L. Hastings

2008 Sentinel of Safety: Rep. Peter DeFazio and Rep. Frank LoBiondo

2007 Sentinel of Safety: Rep. Jerry Costello and Rep. Steven LaTourette

2006 Sentinel of Safety: Sen. Frank Lautenberg

2005 Sentinel of Safety: Rep. James Oberstar