We Guide You Home

Sentinel of Safety Award

Today at #NATCACFS 2023, NATCA President Rich Santa and Executive Vice President Andrew LeBovidge presented NATCA’s great friend and former Air Force Thunderbirds commander Richard McSpadden, now the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA) Air Safety Institute (ASI) Senior Vice President, with the James L. Oberstar Sentinel of Safety Award.

The Sentinel of Safety Award, created by NATCA to recognize aviation leaders for outstanding contributions to aviation safety, was renamed in 2014 at NATCA’s Biennial Convention in Minneapolis in honor of Congressman Jim Oberstar, a staunch advocate for aviation and NATCA.

Jump to top of page