We Guide You Home

CFS 2022 Awards Luncheon

NATCA National Professionalism Award

The goal of NATCA’s Professional Standards program is to maintain and promote professionalism across all of NATCA’s bargaining units. NATCA members achieve that through a commitment to safety and through upholding the public’s trust. They work to inspire, to motivate, to provide personal examples of our professionalism to others, and to maintain the highest standard of excellence. They know their actions represent all of their fellow professionals, and we work to bring honor and respect to all that they do. The NATCA National Professional Standards Committee (PSC) created the “NATCA National Professionalism Award” as a means to recognize the actions of those who continually strive to achieve these goals.

NATCA National Professional Standards Workgroup members Chris Keyes, Lydia Baune, and Patrick Carter presented the 2020, 2021, and 2022 winners with NATCA National Professionalism Awards at NATCA CFS 2022.

Raytheon Controllers of the Year

NATCA CFS sponsor and partner Raytheon selected Raytheon Air Traffic Controllers of the Year. Established by Raytheon, the award honors controllers for outstanding efforts to improve air traffic control quality, safety or efficiency.

Excellence in Training

NATCA created the Excellence in Training Award in 2019, and it was first presented at Communicating For Safety 2019, where the “Every Day is a Training Day” initiative was first featured. The award highlights NATCA’s daily commitment to training and learning.

NATCA President Rich Santa presented the awards for 2020, 2021, and 2022 at the NATCA Communicating For Safety 2022 Awards Luncheon.

Steve Hansen Safety Advocate Award

Named for the former Chairman of the NATCA National Safety Committee, the Steve Hansen Safety Advocate Award is presented to a NATCA member who has made extraordinary achievements and has worked tirelessly on NATCA’s behalf to be a leader in furthering the cause of aviation safety. While each winner has contributed their skills, dedication, and work ethic in different ways, with varying areas of expertise, there is one thing that ties them all together: they are all passionate about safety and aviation.

At the NATCA Communicating For Safety 2022 Awards Luncheon, NATCA Executive Vice President Andrew LeBovidge presented awards to 2021 winner and 2022 winner.

James L Oberstar Sentinel of Safety Award  

NATCA created the Sentinel of Safety Award as a way to honor aviation leaders outside NATCA who have displayed outstanding achievement in the advancement of aviation safety. On Oct. 2, 2014, at its Biennial Convention in Minneapolis, NATCA proudly renamed the award to honor Congressman Jim Oberstar, who was a tireless advocate for aviation, air traffic control, and NATCA during his tenure in Congress and as the Chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.

Jump to top of page