We Guide You Home

NATCA Holds Professional Standards Committee Training in Minneapolis

NATCA’s Professional Standards (PS) Committee recently hosted a three-day training for PS Committee members in Minneapolis. The session, held Nov. 28-30, trains the members in advanced techniques that focus on problem solving, conflict resolution, responsibility acceptance, recognizing exceptional performance, and mentoring.

The training session featured experienced PS instructors Lydia Baune (Spokane ATCT, GEG), Patrick Carter (Dallas/Fort Worth TRACON, D10), and Chris Keyes (Washington Center, ZDC).

“The Professional Standards program provides an invaluable opportunity for our members to address issues and resolve conflict while fostering unity and respect,” San Francisco PS District Chair Patricia Rodriquez (Oakland Center, ZOA) said. “I’m thrilled to be a part of such a transformative program and I’m looking forward to utilizing the tools and skills gained in the Professional Standards training to support and empower my fellow NATCA members in promoting a culture of safety, professionalism, and excellence.”

“I’m so impressed with NATCA and the FAA’s partnership to foster and improve professionalism through this program,” class participant Brandon Tams (Engineer Northwest Mountain, ENM) said. “With a focus on peer-to-peer communication, it allows our sisters and brothers in NATCA to resolve issues in a diplomatic and non-punitive manner. What really underlined my experience has been the overwhelming data showing its positive impact on the controller workforce for 10 plus years. There is the same opportunity with NATCA members in Region X. I’m looking forward to championing this program and its expansion with my fellow Region X colleagues.”

Learn more about the PS program and committee here.

Participants at this training included:
Tony Cobb (Deer Valley ATCT, DVT)
John Cunningham (Atlanta TRACON, A80)
Jose Garcia (Saginaw TRACON, MBS)
Mike Hatley (Fairbanks ATCT, FAI)
Brandon Johnson (Milwaukee ATCT, MKE)
Nelli Kerez (San Francisco ATCT, SFO)
Randy Kleinschmidt (Osan Air Base, OSF)
Rick Lieflander (Chicago O’Hare ATCT, C90)
Lela Rosenberg (Binghamton ATCT, BGM)
Matt Sandner (OSF)
Patricia Rodriguez (Oakland Center, ZOA)
Frederic (Brandon) Tams (Engineer/Northwest Mountain Region, ENM)

Jump to top of page