We Guide You Home

NATCA EVP Andrew LeBovidge Highlights Air Traffic Controllers’ Role and Future Challenges at Airspace World 2024

At Airspace World 2024 in Geneva, NATCA Executive Vice President Andrew LeBovidge engaged in two panel discussions on key issues facing the global aviation industry.

In his first session, LeBovidge addressed the challenges and opportunities presented by new entrants and technologies in aviation, focusing on the role of air traffic control in safe integration of new technology. This panel, representing aviation safety professionals from across the globe, aimed to ensure that the workforce has a say in the ongoing evolution of airspace management. Also participating in this dialogue were Prospect’s ATCOs’ Branch Vice-Chair Mike Reed, New Zealand Airline Pilots’ Association Vice-President (Air Traffic Control) Mike Slack, and Canadian Air Traffic Control Association Vice-President Scott Loder. They discussed the vital need for safe, efficient integration of new technologies in aviation, underlining the importance of collaborative efforts and inclusion of air traffic controllers in these industry developments.

During his second panel, LeBovidge discussed the critical role of air traffic controllers in advancing the Civil Air Navigation Services Organisation’s (CANSO) Vision of the Skies 2045 plan. This initiative, developed by the Complete Air Traffic System (CATS) Global Council, aims to create a unified, optimized, and sustainable airspace environment, accommodating both manned and unmanned vehicles efficiently and safely. During this session, LeBovidge, along with industry leaders, highlighted the necessity of integrating the air traffic controller workforce into this future vision. This discussion included insights from Canadian Air Traffic Controllers Association President Nick von Schoenberg, Global Air Traffic Controllers Alliance Vice President Paul Rinaldi, ATCOs Branch Prospect UK Chair Paul Winstanley, CANSO Director General Simon Hocquard, and Airservices Australia President Tom McRobert. Learn more about the conference here.

Jump to top of page