THE 2018-2019 PROGRAM

Eligibility: This scholarship fund is established for the spouses, children, stepchildren, and legally adopted children of active, retired, and deceased NATCA members with continuous membership in good standing of at least two years. These scholarships are for full-time attendance at accredited colleges and universities within the United States and its territories for an undergraduate degree program.

Award Criteria: NATCA will administer the award of scholarships based on a lottery system. Applicants must apply in writing via the online application to the NATCA National President no later than March 1, 2018 for college/university attendance within that calendar year. Applicants must also submit a qualifying 500-word essay.

Essay Instructions: The essay should be no more than 500 words. The NATCA President and Executive Vice President will judge applicants’ qualifications for the lottery based on the applicant’s completed application, which must include the essay.

NATCA Scholarship Essay Theme Options (choose one):

  • Values: NATCA’s values include honesty, tenacity, leadership by example, hard work, integrity, loyalty to the aviation safety profession, open communication, and the collective spirit. These values guide our decisions and behavior, including how NATCA chooses to assist those applying for aid with their educational goals. Explain how you understand and apply NATCA’s values to your studies, community activism, family life, and/or future aspirations.
  • Labor and Civil Rights: As a Labor Union, NATCA serves to represent and provide a voice for the working men and women in aviation safety professions. As such, we are a small part of a broader movement for social and civil rights for workers in all industries. Describe why it is important to continue to battle for social and civil justice today. Use examples from your own life, current events, or history.
  • Service: NATCA is committed to service through volunteerism, community service, and civil engagement. We work to give back to the communities we live in -- from local charities to national disaster relief -- and to build strong civil engagement among our members and their families. Describe your engagement in community, social, or civil service and how that experience shaped your understanding of service.

Deadline: Applications must be submitted by March 1, 2018 to be considered for the 2018-2019 school year. NATCA will notify applicants as to whether they will receive the scholarship by April 30, 2018.





Congratulations to our 2017 NATCA Scholarship Program winners! Our President's Award winners ($2,000 from NATCA and, thanks to SkyOne Federal Credit Union, an extra $500 each) are Kaylie Killian (Christopher Killian, ZHU), Sophia Leonard (Donald Leonard, ZOB, retired), and Samantha Melton (Larry Melton, STL). Below is the list of $1,000 scholarship winners:

Winner's Name (Member Relative and Facility)
Madison Aitken (Robert Aitken, ENE)
Tara Bahr (Joel Bahr, MKE)
Gregory Baker (Angela and Gregory Baker, ZTL)
Brittany Brooks (Paul Brooks, JRF)
Olivia Cain (James Cain, MRY, retired)
Madeline Clark (Patrick Clark, ZOA)
Samantha Hasmi-Delgado (Martha Delgado, ZMA)
Sarah Faust (Patricia Brace (Faust), ESW)
Lydia Fregosi (Kevin Fregosi, ROC)
Kathleen Glancey (Daniel Glancey, ZDC)
Taylor Grider (Jason Grider, ZFW)
Philip Hughes IV (Philip Hughes III, A90)
John "Jack" Richards (Jeffrey Richards, ZAU)
Cooper Skoric (Michael Skoric, ZDV)
Kirby Skoric (Michael Skoric, ZDV)
Sierra Dawn Smith-Sandland (Jennie Sandland, ZAN)
Ethan Reese Spencer (Brian and Denise Spencer, ZSE)
Kevin Stafford (Donald Stafford, ROA)
Roberto Torres (Roberto Torres, ZSU)
Sydney Velasquez (Fred Velasquez, IAH)


Samantha Melton

Kaylie Killian

Sophia Leonard




Congratulations to our 2016 NATCA Scholarship Program winners! Our President's Award winner ($2,000 scholarship) is Rebecca Kerr, daughter of Robert Kerr (Cleveland, Great Lakes Region). Below is the list of $1,000 scholarship winners:



Past Scholarship Winners