Archie League Medal of Safety Awards

Archie League

The ability to think quickly and remain calm under pressure while maintaining situational awareness are just some of the unique qualities that air traffic controllers possess. Their willingness to resolve complex situations without hesitation, offer a reassuring voice to those on the frequency, and ability to coordinate their efforts with other controllers help these dedicated professionals be successful at maintaining the safety of the National Airspace System.

While many controllers often feel that they are “just doing their job,” their hard work is often viewed by others as remarkable and extraordinary. The Archie League Medal of Safety Awards were named for the first air traffic controller, Archie League. The program highlights a variety of aviation “saves” — some which involve a team of controllers working together, while others are the result of one controller’s efforts.

ALMOSA Judges.jpg

The 14th Annual Archie League Medal of Safety Awards
Nominations are now being accepted! Deadline: April 30, 2018. Any NATCA member can nominate another member in good standing. Only NATCA members can be nominated for an Archie League Medal of Safety Award. Nominated events should include a controller or team of controllers who have gone above and beyond during an emergency situation, or in efforts to keep the National Airspace System safe.

All events since Jan. 1, 2017, are eligible for nomination. All winners will be honored during Communicating For Safety (CFS) 2018. CFS will take place Oct. 22-24, 2018, at Bally's Las Vegas. The 14th Annual Archie League Medal of Safety Awards Banquet will take place on Oct. 24, 2018.

For the Archie League Medal of Safety nomination form, please click here.

In order to nominate, please have the members name(s) and contact information, the date of the event, the pilot's and aircrafts information, a written description of the event, audio and/or radar files, and any other information that could support the nomination on hand.

If you have questions or are having trouble collecting all nomination materials, please contact Archie League Medal of Safety Awards coordinator Sarah Zilonis at szilonis@natcadc.org.

Award selection will take place on June 4, 2018. The Archie League Medal of Safety Awards selection panel (pictured on the left from left to right) are Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) Chief Executive Officer & Chairman of the Board Capt. Jack Pelton, NATCA Director of Safety and Technology Jim Ullmann, and Air Line Pilots Association, Int'l (ALPA) Aviation Safety Chairman Capt. Steve Jangelis.

For a complete list of Archie League Medal of Safety Award winners, click here.