We Guide You Home

NATCA Honors Life-Saving Air Traffic Controller Flight Assists With 18th Annual Archie League Medal of Safety Awards

LAS VEGAS – The National Air Traffic Controllers Association (NATCA) tonight will present its 18th annual Archie League Medal of Safety Awards, the highest honor in the air traffic controller profession, to close this week’s Communicating For Safety (CFS) conference at Bally’s Las Vegas. For the sixth year, NATCA also will present its Region X Commitment to Safety Award that recognizes great work from aviation safety professionals working in the many non-air traffic controller bargaining units that NATCA represents. Named after the first air traffic controller, Archie League, this award and the Region X Commitment to Safety Award honor the best in our professions.

Live coverage at natca.org/cfs starts at 7:30 p.m. PDT (10:30 p.m. EDT).

“The Archie League Medal of Safety Awards honor the tremendous accomplishments of air traffic controllers each year,” said NATCA President Rich Santa. “Our members work 24 hours a day, seven days a week to ensure that our National Airspace System remains the safest in the world. Each day, millions of air travelers make it to their destinations safely due to the vital work of NATCA members.

“They handle both routine and unexpected incidents with professionalism and expertise. Their skill is earned through a full commitment to training to prepare for all situations that may arise on the job. Tonight’s honorees acted quickly and decisively, saving lives. They are a credit to our profession. They have earned the great honor that NATCA will award them tonight.”

Winners of the 18th Annual Archie League Medal of Safety Award
(full accounts are available through the provided links)

Alaska Region
Brent Eber, Merrill Field, ATCT (MRI) and Nathan Midthun, Merrill Field, ATCT (MRI)

Central Region
Brian Magnuson, Kansas City Center (ZKC)

Eastern Region
David Lomascolo, Potomac TRACON (PCT) and Eric Lomascolo, Potomac TRACON (PCT)

Great Lakes Region
Darren Groce, Indianapolis ATCT (IND), retired

New England Region
Patrick Sullivan, Boston ATCT (BOS)

Northwest Mountain Region
Morgan Farmer, Denver Center (ZDV) and Jake Zakrzewski, Denver Center (ZDV)

Southern Region
David Kunzman, Memphis Center (ZME) and Artur Mularczyk, Memphis Center (ZME)
Southwest Region
Kerri Fingerson, Fort Worth Center (ZFW), currently at ZBW and Megan Baird, Fort Worth Center (ZFW)

Western Pacific Region
Colby Alford, Las Vegas TRACON (L30), Mathew Cox, Las Vegas TRACON (L30), Dan Hauptman, Las Vegas TRACON (L30), and Eric Joe, Las Vegas TRACON (L30)

Region X Commitment to Safety Award
Jon Stanton, Engineers New England (ENE)

MORE INFORMATION: Galen Munroe, Deputy Director of Public Affairs; (202) 439-7427, [email protected].

Jump to top of page